Goodpueblo's Blog

August 26, 2009

Turning my child into a less materialistic one

Filed under: .... — Tags: , , , , , , , — goodpueblo @ 4:25 pm

100_1261

Is it possible to raise a non-materialist child on these technological times? I keep wondering this to myself while I look at my 10 year old daughter going from her Nintendo DS, to the Notebook, to the TV to watch Cartoon Network and from there more than often to borrow either mine or my husband’s mp3. And yes, she has her own mp3 player but because is not an iPod isn’t as fun. Ya know..

Can we be technologically prepared and at the same time frugal? This is a question that has been daunting me for quite some time and even though hippy’s is not my favorite lifestyle, sometimes I think we need to go back to nature in order for us to truly disconnect.

Imagine how happy I feel when we go for lunch once or twice a week to my mother’s house and my daughter plays with everything and anything she finds on the well planted yard. Just yesterday while there, she was playing for 2 hours straight with mud, she said she was making cookies and because the weather is getting to be great this time of the year, we are really enjoying it, but back home is another story. Obviously is not easy for an only child with a working from home mom to get a lot of fun by herself but I only wish that these kids could truly appreciate being outside and connect to each other face to face instead of doing it  through the computer.

Today she has a Birthday party, one of her classmates is turning 11!! I can’t believe this..she is getting to be a pre-teen and I am not ready at all for it.

Anyway, we got her a cute little necklace and we made some cookies for her and I keep hoping that technology and frugalness can live together for ever..

100_1264

2 Comments »

  1. awww so sweet!

    most def, its hard to separate a child from technology. I have a brother 10 years younger (15) who spends most of his life connected to a keyboard. They even use them instead of paper and books at high school! I remember when I was a kid we played footy on the street, knew all our neighbours and made up our own fun. Life has definitely changed.

    One of the interesting things about it I think is that when I was little we watched the wall come down on the tele, I really didn’t understand the significance of such an action. In fact I didn’t understand most of the violence and politics on the television. Being told to finish my meal at the dinner table as there were starving kids in Africa didn’t make much sense to me either.

    You see, these things didn’t happen in my neighbourhood.

    The reason I bring this up is because I went through life not really concerned about adulthood and my career. As I had been told I could be anything I want. Its taken a long time to realise that I can’t get money out of the hole in the wall (atm) whenever I want. People will continue to send me lots of letters (bills) and I can’t just walk into NASA and expect to be an astronaut!

    I asked my little brother what he wanted to be when he grows up, and he told me a Policeman!

    “Why?!”

    He answered “Don’t you know!? the world is a violent place and needs protecting” (as he pulled out course guides and career information!)

    Sometimes a little technology is good.. but we have to remember so is playing with sticks in the yard!

    keep it up! and check out mamahasamohawk

    will definitely return the favour and add you to my linklove! (just make sure you keep posting so I can keep reading!)

    xJ

    Comment by rv swanson — August 28, 2009 @ 12:59 am

    • You got me thinking, lol, not an easy thing to do at 8:00 in the morning…
      That is definitely such an important point. I know she is connected with the rest of the world because (thank you news for putting those up front for anyone to see..) she has asked the most deep questions you can ask a child to formulate and then she turns around and wants to go back to playing dress up in her room.
      These kids are amazing and I don’t think my childhood prepared me in any way for it.
      I’ll check it out right now.
      Thanks!

      Comment by goodpueblo — August 28, 2009 @ 8:52 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

